Lorna Goodison

Click photo for source

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.


Lorna Goodison is an internationally acclaimed author from Jamaica. She has published several books of poetry: Tamarind Season (1980), I Am Becoming My Mother (1986), Heartease (1988), Poems (1989), Selected Poems (1992), To Us, All Flowers Are Roses (1995), Turn Thanks (1999), Guinea Woman (2000), Travelling Mercies (2001), Controlling the Silver (2005), and Goldengrove (2006). She has also written two collections of short stories, Baby Mother and the King of Swords (1990) and Fool-Fool Rose Is Leaving Labour-in-Vain Savannah (2005), and a memoir, From Harvey River (2008). She has won numerous awards for her writing, including the Commonwealth Poetry Prize for the Americas for I Am Becoming My Mother, and the British Columbia Prize, Canada’s prestigious non-fiction prize, for her memoir, From Harvey River.

More resources:

Click here to buy books by Lorna Goodison.

Search The Caribbean Review of Books‘s index to material on Lorna Goodison.

Read The New York Times review of From Harvey River.

Watch a youtube video of Lorna Goodison talking about From Harvey River.

2 thoughts on “Lorna Goodison

  1. di;pnbs&t:Do youve a spam issue on this internet site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your scenario; we have developed some good approaches and were looking to exchange options with other folks, be positive to shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  2. most popular prescription drugs [url=http://rivotril.page4.me/]rivotril kaufen ohne rezept[/url] compounding pharmacy cleveland ohio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.