Rabindranath Maharaj

Photo credit: Ryan Durgasingh









Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.


Rabindranath “Robin” Maharaj is a Trinidadian-born and Canadian-based writer. He has authored five novels including: The Lagahoo’s Apprentice (2000), A Perfect Pledge (2005) and The Picture of Nobody (2010). He has also written three short story collections, The Interloper (1995), The Writer and His Wife (1996) and The Book of Ifs and Buts (2002), numerous short stories published in anthologies, a radio play and has co-written a screenplay. His latest novel, The Amazing Absorbing Boy (2010), won the 2010 Trillium Book Award, the 2011 Toronto Book Award and was long-listed for the 2011 OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature.

More resources:

Click here to buy Rabindranath Maharaj’s books.

Visit Rabindranath Maharaj’s website.

Read an interview by Beth Carswell.

Read an interview by Ingrid Ruthig.

Read the Toronto Star’s review of The Amazing Absorbing Boy.

Read the Winnipeg Free Press‘s review of The Amazing Absorbing Boy.

Read a review of A Perfect Pledge by Nicholas Dinka.

Read a blog post about Rabindranath Maharaj’s reading at the 2012 NGC Bocas Lit Fest.

Watch a collection of videos featuring Rabindranath Maharaj.