Velma Pollard







Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.


 Velma Pollard is a Jamaican poet, writer and academic. In addition to her academic works, she has published several collections of poetry including Crown Point: And Other Poems (1988), Shame Trees Don’t Grow Here (1991), The Best Philosophers I Know Can’t Read or Write (2001) and Leaving Traces (2007). She has two collections of short stories: Karl and Other Stories (1993) and Considering Woman (1989). The novella, Karl, later collected in Karl and Other Stories, won the 1992 Casa de las Americas prize. She has also published a novel: Homestretch (1994).

More resources:

Click here to buy Velma Pollard’s books.

Read The Caribbean Review of Books’s review of Leaving Traces.

Read several reviews of Velma Pollard’s work.

Read the Jamaican Gleaner’s review of Considering Woman.

Watch several videos of Velma Pollard reading her work and speaking.