Merle Collins

Click for source









Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.


Merle Collins is a Grenadian writer and poet. She has published two novels, The Colour of Forgetting (1995) and Angel (2011), a short story collection entitled Rain Darling: Stories (1990), and co-edited Watchers and Seekers: Creative Writing by Black Women in Britain (1987). She has also published three collections of poetry: Because the Dawn Breaks (1985), Rotten Pomerack (1993) and Lady in a Boat (2003). Her latest book is a collection of short stories entitled The Ladies are Upstairs (2011).

More resources:

Click here to buy books by Merle Collins.

Read an interview by Thorunn Lonsdale.

Read another interview conducted by Jacqueline Bishop and Dolace Nicole McLean.

Read a blurb on The Ladies are Upstairs.

Read a short Publishers Weekly review of The Ladies are Upstairs.

Watch a youtube video of Merle Collins reading from her work at the International Poetry Festival of Medellín.