Caryl Phillips

Photo by Ryan Durgasingh











Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.


Caryl Phillips is a St. Kitts born, British writer.  He has published several plays, including: The Shelter (1983), Where There is Darkness (1982), Strange Fruit (1980),  and numerous novels, such as: In the Falling Snow (2009), Foreigners (2007), Dancing in the Dark (2005), A Distant Shore (2003), The Nature of Blood (1997), Crossing the River (1993), and non-fiction works, like: Colour Me English (2011), A New World Order (2001), The Atlantic Sound (2000), and The European Tribe (1987). He has been awarded the Martin Luther King Memorial Prize, a British Council Fellowship, the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, a Lannan Foundation Fellowship, and a Guggenheim Fellowship, among others.  

More Resources:

Click here to buy his books.

Click here to visit his website.

Read AfroEurope’s interview

Read BOMB Magazine‘s interview.

Read New Stateman‘s interview.

Read Wasafiri‘s review of Colour Me English. 

Read Kirkus‘s review of Colour Me English.

Read The Guardian‘s review of In the Falling Snow.

Watch BBC News Daily’s talk.

Watch The Centre For Fiction‘s interview.