Michael Anthony

Photo Credit: Ryan Durgasingh











Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.


Michael Anthony is a Trinidadian writer and historian.  He has published numerous novels, including The Games Were Coming (1963), The Year in San Fernando (1965), Green Days by the River (1967), All That Glitters (1981), High Tide of Intrigue (2001), and numerous short story collections, such as Sandra Street and Other Stories (1973), and Cricket in the Road (1973),  and many historical nonfictional works.  Anthony was awarded the Arts Council of Great Britain Fellowship in 1967, Trinidad and Tobago’s Hummingbird Gold Medal in 1979, and the NALIS’s Lifetime Literary Award in 2012.  

More Resources: 

Click here to buy books by Michael Anthony.

Read Pascal De Suoza’s interview.

Read Repeating Islands‘s article.

Read Trinidad Express‘s “The Journey of Michael Anthony”.

Read Kirkus‘s review of Green Days by the River.

Read Darrel Cumber Dance’s chapter on Anthony.