Ian McDonald









Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.


Ian McDonald is a Caribbean writer. He has numerous publications, including the novel The Humming-Bird Tree (1969), poetry collections such as Selected Poems (1984), Mercy Ward (1992), Essequibo (1992), Jaffo The Calypsonian (1994), and Between Silence and Silence (2003), edited others such as the Heinemann Book of Caribbean Poetry (Ed. with Stewart Brown, 1992), A. J. Seymour, Collected Poems 1937-1989 (Ed. with Jacqueline de Weever) and Poems by Martin Carter (Ed. with Stewart Brown 2008), and plays such as The Tramping Man (1969). In addition to these, Ian has written extensively on cricket. He has been the recipient of several awards, including the Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize for The Humming-Bird Tree, the 1992 Guyana Prize for Poetry for Essequibo and the 2003 Guyana Prize for Literature for Between Silence and Silence.

More resources:

Click here to buy books by Ian McDonald.

Read The CRB‘s review of Selected Poems.

Read The Caribbean Writer‘s review of Jaffo The Calypsonian.

Read Caribbean Beat‘s interview by Nicholas Laughlin.

Read two poems published in The CRB.

Read one of Ian McDonald’s “Ian on Sunday” articles, “Poetic Licence“.