Irvine Welsh

Photo Credit: Rankin

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.


Irvine Welsh is a Scottish writer. He has published eight novels,Trainspotting (1993), Marabou Stork Nightmares (1995), Filth (1998), Glue (2001), Porno (2002), The Bedroom Secrets of the Master Chefs (2006), Crime (2008)  and Skagboys (2012), and four short story collections, The Acid House (1994), Ecstasy: Three Tales of Chemical Romance (1996), If You Liked School You’ll Love Work (2007), and Reheated Cabbage (2009). He has also written plays and screenplays. Several of his novels have been adapted into highly acclaimed, award winning movies, with the film adaptation of Trainspotting (1996) in particular receiving numerous accolades. In 1994, he won the Scottish Arts Council Book Award for Trainspotting and was longlisted for the Booker prize for the same novel. He was shortlisted for the 2002 Saltire Society Scottish Book of the Year Award for Porno.


More resources:

Click here to buy books by Irvine Welsh.

Visit his website.

Read Vice‘s interview.

Read The Quietus‘s interview.

Read Bookslut‘s interview.

Read The A.V. Club‘s interview.

Read The List‘s interview.

Read The Guardian‘s review of Skag Boys.

Read The New York Times‘s reviews of Skag Boys and Crime.

Read The Independent‘s review of Skag Boys.

Read Publishers Weekly‘s review of Filth.