Earl Lovelace

Click for source











Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.



Earl Lovelace is a Trinbagonian writer. He has published eight novels, While Gods Are Falling (1965), The Schoolmaster (1968), The Dragon Can’t Dance (1979),
The Wine of Astonishment (1983), Salt (1996), and  Is Just a Movie (2011), a short story collection, A Brief Conversion and Other Stories (1988), an edited essay collection, Growing in the Dark (Ed. Funso Aiyejina, 2003), and numerous plays including:
Jestina’s Calypso (1978), The Dragon Can’t Dance (1986, 1989 and 1990), and Joebell and America (1999). Earl has been the recipient of numerous awards and honours such as the 1966 Pegasus Literary Award, a Chaconia Medal (Gold) in 1988, the 1997 Best Book, Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Salt, and the 2012 Caribbean-Canadian Literary Award. In 2012, he won the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature for his latest novel, Is Just a Movie.

More resources:

Click here to buy books by Earl Lovelace.

Read The Guardian’s  review of Is Just a Movie.

Read Novel Niche’s review of Is Just a Movie.

Read SX Salon‘s review of Is Just a Movie.

Read The Financial Times‘s review of Is Just a Movie.

Read Peter Vilbig’s review of Is Just a Movie.

Read The New York Times‘s review of Salt.

Read The Caribbean Writer‘s review of Salt.

Read the CRB‘s interview by B.C. Pires.

Read The Trinidad and Tobago Guardian‘s interview.

Read Metro‘s interview.

Read SX Salon‘s interview.

Read Postcolonial Text‘s interview.

Read Writers’ Hub‘s interview by Monique Roffey.

Watch  Harlem Arts Salon‘s interview “Harlem Arts Salon: Earl Lovelace” by Elizabeth Nunez.

Watch Earl deliver the keynote address at the 2010 International Conference on Caribbean Literature here: part 1 and part 2

Watch Earl read from Is Just a Movie at PEN’s 2013 World Voices Festival.