Lawrence Scott

Photo Credit: Ryan Durgasingh









Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.


Lawrence Scott is a Trinidadian writer. He has published four novels, Witchbroom (1992), Aelred’s Sin (1998), Night Calypso (2004) and Light Falling On Bamboo (2012), a collection of short stories, Ballad for the New World (1994), and an edited collection, Golconda: Our Voices Our Lives (2009). Lawrence has won several honours for his writing, including the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize in 1998 and the 1986 Tom-Gallon Short-Story Award, and has been nominated for various other awards such as the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award in 2000 and 2006. He was awarded a Life Time Literary Award given by the National Library of Trinidad & Tobago in 2012. In 2013, Light Falling on Bamboo was longlisted for the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature.

More resources:

Click here to buy Lawrence Scott’s books.

Visit his website.

Read Novel Niche‘s review of Light Falling On Bamboo (excerpts published in The Trinidad Guardian).

Read The Guardian‘s reviews of Light Falling on Bamboo and Night Calypso.

Read The Independent‘s review of Light Falling On Bamboo by Monique Roffey.

Read the Historical Novel Society‘s review of Light Falling On Bamboo.

Read The Trinidad and Tobago Newsday‘s article on Golconda, “Golconda’s living history“.

Read Njelle Hamilton’s “‘From Silent Wounds to Narrated Words’: Calypso Storytelling in Lawrence Scott’s Night Calypso“, published in Anthurium.

Read “Chameleon“, Lawrence’s short story first published in Ballad for the New World and Other Stories.

Read The Trinidad Guardian‘s “Beyond Illustration“, Lawrence’s article on Jackie Hinkson’s retrospective exhibition held in January, 2013.

Watch Lawrence discuss Light Falling on Bamboo in Riposte Pictures‘s video.

Watch Lawrence read at Paper Based book store, Normandie Hotel, Trinidad.