Fred D’Aguiar

Photo Credit: Ant Smith










Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.


Fred D’Aguiar is a novelist, poet and playwright. Born in London to Guyanese parents, he grew up in Guyana, but moved back to London when he was twelve. He has published several collections of poetry including: Mama Dot (1985) Airy Hall (1989) British Subjects (1998) Bill of Rights (1998) Bloodlines (2000) and Continental Shelf (2009). His novels include: The Longest Memory (1994) Dear Future (1996) Feeding the Ghosts (1997) and Bethany Bettany (2004). Fred has won several prizes including the 1989 Guyana Poetry Prize, the 1994 David Higham Prize for Fiction, the 1994 Whitbread First Novel Award and the 1996 Guyana Prize for Literature. He was shortlisted in 1997  for the James Tait Black Memorial Prize (for fiction) and in 2009 for the T.S. Eliot Prize.

More Resources:

Click here to buy Fred D’Aguiar’s books.

Read an interview by The Poetry Kit.

Read an interview by Joanne Hyppolite

Read an interview by Harald Leusmann for Wasafiri

Read The Guardian’s review of Continental Shelf

Read Publisher’s Weekly‘s review of Feeding the Ghosts.

Read Fred D’Aguiar’s essay on Wilson Harris for The Caribbean Review of Books.

Listen to “ROYGBIV“, a poem by Fred D’Aguiar

Listen to Fred D’Aguiar read from his work at The Poetry Archive

Watch the book trailer for The Longest Memory.